Viva Glam Gaga I and Viva Glam Cyndi

3 Mar

Since the new MAC Viva Glam Gaga II has recently come out, I thought it would be nice to look back at her first contributions – Gaga I Lipglass and Gaga I lipstick! Then we’ll take a look at the fabulous Viva Glam Cyndi lipstick.

Let’s start with the lipstick.

This is a versatile lipstick that you can wear sheer or build up to dramatic and opaque. The formula is Lustre, which feels more moisturizing and is more sheer and shiny than a lot of the MAC finishes. I noticed that with Gaga I if you try to layer it up too much, it tends to get slippery and will settle into any imperfections on your lips.

Now, the Lipglass!

This is better layered over Gaga I lipstick than by itself, in my opinion. Using both achieves the perfect pink pout. The gloss on its own is still pretty pigmented (it is a Lipglass after all), but I like having that extra pop and opaqueness that the combination gives. You can really see the difference in the swatches.

Upper left: Lipstick  Upper Right: Lipglass  Bottom: Lipglass layered over lipstick

Now to Viva Glam Cyndi!

Such pretty packaging! A sheer red with a hint of coral, this is not the fire-engine red I first expected when I saw the Viva Glam ad with Cyndi and Gaga. Like Gaga, this lipstick is a Lustre. Unlike Gaga, however, this lipstick is far more forgiving of imperfections on your lips. If your lips are insanely dry, of course it will show, but Cyndi doesn’t seem to settle into lines as readily, if at all. It looks like a muted, shiny red when I wear it, and I love that it is easy to dab on for a light wash of color but will build to a super-shiny opaque red. Although I like the color of Gaga better (I adore pink lipsticks), I like the wear of Cyndi. Darker colors are more forgiving in Lustre formula, I think.

Here are swatches of the lipsticks, two swipes of each. Cyndi on the left, Gaga on the right.

So how can you get the best wear out of these? Exfoliate your lips, and make sure they are well moisturized so the lipstick/Lipglass color doesn’t get the accentuate any dryness. I get about two hours of wear out of Gaga, three hours from Cyndi. These are both really shiny and beautiful, flattering for a lot of different skin tones, especially because of the Lustre finish.

These are absolutely worth what you pay for them. Plus the money is going to a great cause. I can’t wait to get Viva Glam Gaga II!

Follow tia_bowman on Twitter

Leave a Reply

