NOTD: Disney Princess Series – Aurora

26 Mar

Today’s lovely Princess inspiration – Aurora!

Aurora from Sleeping Beauty

She had a blue and white dress, and a pink and white dress, which was the inspiration for this manicure, though I used a pale lavender instead of pink because I only had a HOT pink that wouldn’t have looked that great with this color scheme.

OPI Whats With the Cattitude?

KISS Nail Design Liners

China Glaze Fairy Dust

Here’s what I did wrong with this mani:

I was in a hurry, so I used a quick-drying spray (like hairspray for your nails) between each layer. Um, no. Don’t do that. Why? Because this happens:

Oops.

That’s right. The dreaded bubble epidemic, all happening from my nail on up through the layers of polish. Quick dry spray is meant to be used sparingly after you have all your polish on. Do what I did and you’re actually applying a layer of polish over a layer of spray, which, guess what, is still working it’s chemical drying magic. Hence, bubbles.

What I Did Wrong Next

I put on my Seche Vite top coat, which, I later learned, is supposed to be put on only while polish is still wet. Why? It bonds to the polish (all of the layers as a whole) and in turn locks it onto your nails. So when you put it on when your polish is dry, it binds mostly to the top layer and because the polish beneath it has already shrunk down (that’s right, there’s always shrinkage when polish dries), the SV pulls the polish away from your nail, usually at the edges. You can see that started happening around the edges of some of my nails.

… But other than that, I really love this manicure. 🙂 I never have used the KISS liners before, and I loved them. Just the right consistency and the length of the bristles is perfect – not too long – and they have a good amount of give when you use them. I haven’t seen any evidence of fraying yet, which is awesome. Nothing worse than a fraying nail or eyeliner brush!

What I Used: Seche Vite quick dry base coat, OPI What’s With the Cattitude? (pale blue creme), China Glaze Fairy Dust (holographic micro-glitter), KISS nail design liners in lavender and white, Seche Vite quick dry top coat.

Leave a comment